Adapted from an image created by the National Optical Astronomy Observatories

Greetings to students in ASTR 4810 from the instructor, Nancy Morrison.

This page is intended to provide a backup copy of the images displayed in lecture, announcements relevant to the class, and access to the wealth of astronomical information on the World Wide Web.
Latest update: 1/25/05 17:13

Links to astronomy resources

Backup copies of documents (PDF unless otherwise noted)

Images, or links to images, shown in class are given below.

Monday, January 24, 2005: Sun in X-rays ... Corona in visible light ... Solar chromosphere in Fe I light and magnetogram

Friday, January 21, 2005: flash spectrum taken during solar eclipse ... total solar eclipse ... SOHO Extreme Ultraviolet Imaging Telescope images

Wednesday, January 12, 2005 (continuing with stellar interiors in ASTR 4820, substituting for K. Bjorkman): solar granulation ... numerical simulation of bounday of convective layer ... pie graph of solar interior model

Monday, November 15: HR Diagram (Figure 3.4) ... Luminosity effects at A2

Monday, November 8



Sun-like star, CK Bootis (F8)


Vega (A0)


HDE 226868 (O9.7)
Spectra courtesey of Steve Howell (NOAO)

Wednesday, November 3:

Monday, November 1: binary star animation ... visual binary star example ... Sixth Catalog of Orbits of Visual Binary Stars ... spectroscopic binary example (PDF, 198k, 2 pages)

Friday, October 29: the Very Large Array (larger view) ... information about the Atacama Large Millimeter Array (ALMA)

Wednesday, October 27

Friday, October 22: Illustrations of resolution of a telescope via images of Pluto and Charon

Monday, October 18: Zeeman effect in a sunspot (similar image)

Friday, October 15: The Balmer lines of hydrogen in emission and in absorption (Essential Cosmic Perspective 2nd ed. Fig. 6.6, handout)

Wednesday, October 13: A hotter stellar continuum ... The transmission curves of the UBV filters

Friday, October 8: Stars are not black bodies ...

Wednesday, October 6: Graphs of sample blackbody radiation curves

Wednesday, September 1: The equation of time (scroll down the page to see the graph) ... The analemma

Wednesday, August 25: Retrograde loop of Mars ... Paired retrograde motions of Jupiter and Saturn