Greetings to students in ASTR2010-001 (TR 11:00-12:15) from the instructor, Nancy Morrison.

This page is intended to provide a backup copy of the materials displayed in lecture, announcements relevant to the class, and access to the wealth of astronomical information on the World Wide Web.

Latest update (most recent items are in red): Tue, Dec 17, 2002 20:32
Displays from lecture ... About Ritter Planetarium ... Links to astronomy resources

Office hours for exam week: M & W 2 - 6 PM, RO 205. Quiz 6 and 7 makeups and Homework 13 have been graded and will be available for pickup during office hours Wednesday and at the final.

The final exam will be comprehensive, covering chapters 1 through 11 to the extent that they were covered in class. Study guide for final exam here (PDF)

Help with math and physics (not necessarily astronomy) is available at the Help Center of the Department of Physics and Astronomy. More information here.

Information on Web project, due Thursday, December 12, here.

Homework policies announced in class Tuesday, September 10, 2002 here.

List of all homework assignments here.


Evening sky viewing has been discontinued for the rest of the semester.


In case you have comments or questions about this page, please feel free to e-mail me at
nmorris@pop3.utoledo.edu
or telephone me at 419-530-2659.

Many documents are in Portable Document Format (PDF). Try clicking on them. If your browser does not recognize them, you should install Acrobat Reader on your computer. It is freely available for downloading here. Or you may want to download the Acrobat Reader plugin for Netscape here. It may be a shorter download.


Syllabus for course (PDF) here .

Study tips for success here (not yet available).

Shows at Ritter Planetarium are optional but likely will be helpful in understanding the course content about the sky. More information here.

Links to images shown in class are given below.

Thursday, December 12:

Tuesday, December 10

Thursday, December 5

Tuesday, December 3: no images shown. Structure of planetary atmospheres; global circulation patterns; gain and loss processes for atmospheres.

Tuesday, November 26: Cratered region on Mars ... Operation of greenhouse effect, Figure 10.8.

Thursday, November 21: The Americas by radar ... Subduction graphic ... Aleutian Islands region by radar (about halfway down the page) ... A giant tectonic feature on Mars ... Barringer meteorite crater (Arizona) ... Lake Manicouagan meteorite crater (Canada) (near the bottom of the page) ... Material ejected from crater Copernicus (Moon) ... Full Moon ... Lunar impact basin

Tuesday, November 19:

Thursday, November 14: The constellation Orion ... Orion Nebula ... Protoplanetary disks in the Orion Nebula ... Discovery "picture" of the planet of Tau Gruis. This is the first item under "Planet Research News," dated 17 September 2002.

Tuesday, November 12: Artist's concepts, all from same Web site: In the solar nebula; Planetesimal; Impact; Early Earth ... Computer simulation of the impact that led to the formation of the Moon

Thursday, November 7: No images. Nebular theory on origin of solar system continued.

Tuesday, November 5: The Nine Planets ... Allende meteorite ... Figure 8.19 from text ... Comet West ... Oort cloud diagram

Thursday, October 31: No images. Challenges to theory of origin of solar system continued: Challenge 2, planetary categories; Challenge 2.5, primitive meteorites. Class ended with tour of Ritter Observatory 1-meter telescope.

Tuesday, October 29: Pluto and its satellite ... Yerkes 41-inch reflector ... Summit of Kitt Peak ... Kitt Peak 4-meter telescope ... Green Bank Telescope ... Arecibo radio telescope ... Hubble Space Telescope ... Trajectory of Mars Odyssey ... For more information about planetary exploration missions mentioned in class, check here

Thursday, October 24: No images. Telescopes, angular measure, and resolution.

Tuesday, October 22: Fall break, no class.

Thursday, October 17: Person & match in infrared ... Eclipsed Moon in infrared ... Graphs of ideal thermal radiation ... Comparison of thermal radiation graphs for the Sun and the Earth ... A CCD ... Figure 7.2 ... Aerial view of Yerkes Observatory ... The Yerkes 40-inch refracting telescope

Tuesday, October 15: Continued with topic of light, demonstrated the visible spectrum in real life. Also emission-line spectra. Illustration of Doppler Effect (at bottom of page). Used lamp with dimmer to demonstrate temperature dependence of thermal radiation.

Thursday, October 10: Ocean waves (this picture is almost half way down the page) ... Waves diagram ... Electromagnetic spectrum

Tuesday, October 8: Went over homework assignments 4 and 5. Escape speed, tides. This is the end of coverage of chapter 5. Begin chapter 6 next time, topics: light waves, the electromagnetic spectrum, Doppler effect, thermal radiation

Thursday, October 3: How Newton's laws explain Kepler's laws. Calculations for Kepler's Third Law.

Tuesday, October 1: Orbital motion of planets and satellites; solar system "orrery" projection. Kepler's laws.

Thursday, September 26: no images shown. Acceleration of gravity, motion of a projectile. Newton's law of gravity.

Tuesday, September 24: no images shown. Went over Homework 3, announced supplemental homework problem, available in PDF here. Continued motion: velocity, acceleration, force, Newton's first and second laws.

Thursday, September 19: no images shown. Solids, liquids, gases; pressure; density. Began motion (chapter 5).

Tuesday, September 17: no images shown. Topics: finished problem 18 in chap. S1; mapping the sky (right ascension and declination). Chapter 4: energy; solids, liquids, gases.

Thursday, September 12: no images shown

Tuesday, September 10: Moon, Venus, and Mars ... Venus loop ... Retrograde motion movie

Thursday, September 5: The Moon's phases (animation) ... Total solar eclipse ... Annular eclipse of the Sun ... Total eclipse animation ... Triple exposure of lunar eclipse

Tuesday, September 3: Star trails in the southern sky (forgot this picture was taken in Australia!)

Thursday, August 29: Spiral galaxy M74 ... Edge-on spiral NGC 4565 ... Spiral in Andromeda (M31) ... The Coma cluster of galaxies

Tuesday, August 27: Earth & moon ... The nine planets ... The Sun in white light ... Orion & the Milky Way